Advisory Committee

The LGBT Advisory Committee will identify key areas of importance, programmatic interventions, and resources that support LGBT issues.  The charge of the LGBT Advisory Committee is to:

  1. Make recommendations to the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine about priorities related to LGBT students, staff, faculty, trainees, and fellows at HMS and HSDM;
  2. Identify concerns, resources, and programmatic needs across the HMS/HSDM LGBT community; and
  3. Collaborate with University and HMS-related, offices, programs, and groups that address the needs of the HMS/HSDM LGBT community.


Committee Members


Joshua Ellis, MD
Clinical Instructor in Emergency Medicine
Director of Diversity Recruitment, BIDMC Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency
Assistant Clerkship Director, HMS and BIDMC

Dr. Joshua Ellis is an Emergency Medicine physician at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School where he serves as the Director of Diversity Recruitment and also the Assistant Clerkship Director for the Emergency Medicine clerkship.  He is also the HMS faculty Chair of the LGBT Dean's Advisory Committee.  He graduated medical school from Howard University (HU!!) and completed his residency in Emergency Medicine at Mayo Clinic.  He then went on to complete an education fellowship at BIDMC and MPH at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. His academic work focuses on improving diversity in higher medical education and developing curriculum on Health Equity and racial disparities in clinical practice. His work has been recognized both institution-wide and nationally.  He was the recipient of Harvard Medical Schools' Harold Amos Faculty Diversity Award and also the recipient of the 40 under 40 leaders in Minority Health Award from the National Minority Quality Forum.  He is half Black and half Mexican and a proud member of the LGBT community.



Melissa Kenny
Internet Information Server Administrator, Harvard Medical School



Cooper Sabatino
Manager, LGBT Programs, Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership, Harvard Medical School



Rohan Barrett
Director of Development - Principal & Major Gifts, Alumni Affairs and Development, Harvard Medical School

Aliya Feroe
HMS ’21, Harvard Medical School Student

Robert Goldstein, MD, PHD
Medical Director, Transgender Health Program, Massachusetts General Hospital

Yvonne Gomez-Carrion, MD
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Daphne A. Haas-Kogan, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology, Brigham and Women's Hospital

Sabra L. Katz-Wise, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Boston Children's Hospital, Co-Director, Harvard SOGIE Health Equity Research Collaborative

Simone Leary
Chief Human Resources Officer

Melanie Molina, MD
Clinical Fellow, Emergency Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital

Jesscia Murphree
HSDM ’23, Harvard School of Dental Medicine Student

Jordan, Said
HMS ’22, Harvard Medical School Student

Alexandra Shields, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital

Ari Tabaac, PhD
Researcher, Boston Children's Hospital
Lisa B. Weissmann, MD
Chief, Hematology and Oncology, Mount Auburn Hospital


Ex-Officio Committee Members

Alex Keuroghlian, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital

Jennifer Potter, MD, Professor of Medicine; Advisory Dean, Castle Society; LAHMS Faculty Advisor


Past Committee Members

Mark Award, MD, PHD
Ida Bernstein
Iman Berrahou
Justin A. Chen, MD, MPH
Robert Coughlin
Cary Crall
Juan Jaime de Zengotita, MD
Abhinav Dhall, PHD
Shaun Dow
Jacob Emge
Madeleine Farber Jennewein
Marshall Forstein, MD
Michael Fuchs
Maya Harary
Joan Ilacqua
Ingrid Katz, MD
Robert Li Kitts, MD
Lenny Lopez, MD, MDiv, MPH
Jonathan Matsui, PHD
Annelies Mesman, PHD
Pamela Needham
Megan Prock
Susan Rapple
Christopher Daniel Andrade Rodrigues, PHD
Mark Schuster, MD, PHD
Marisa Silveri, PHD
Viknesh Sivanathan, PHD
Catharine Smith
Carl G. Streed, Jr., MD
Peggy Timothe, DDS
William Lensch, PhD
John L Dalrymple, MD
Jose Martinez

More Information