Advisory Committee

The LGBT Advisory Committee will identify key areas of importance, programmatic interventions, and resources that support LGBT issues.  The charge of the LGBT Advisory Committee is to:

  1. Make recommendations to the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine about priorities related to LGBT students, staff, faculty, trainees, and fellows at HMS and HSDM;
  2. Identify concerns, resources, and programmatic needs across the HMS/HSDM LGBT community; and
  3. Collaborate with University and HMS-related, offices, programs, and groups that address the needs of the HMS/HSDM LGBT community.

Committee Members


John L Dalrymple, MD
Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and the Dr. Mark and Karen Lawrence Director of Assessment, Professionalism and Humanism in Medicine

John is a gynecologic oncologist and serves as the Associate Chair and Vice Chair for Faculty Development and Faculty Affairs within the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.  He he also serves as Director of Professional Development and Clinical Assessment Integration at Harvard Medical School.  Prior to returning to Boston in 2015, he was an active clinical teaching faculty in both the University of California and University of Texas Health Systems, where he served in many educational leadership roles.  As a Hispanic, gay male and a long-time LGBT advocate, John enjoys serving as a role-model and mentor to URIM and LGBT trainees and faculty.  With a focus on medical education, assessment and professional identity formation, John supports opportunities to increase awareness of LGBT issues in both the medical education curriculum and learning environment.


Jose MartinezJose Martinez
Senior HR Consultant and Compliance Manager, Harvard Medical School

Jose serves as the Title IX Coordinator for Staff at HMS with a primary focus on training, prevention and addressing sexual and gender-based concerns from the Harvard community. Jose contributes as a member of the Institutional Review Board for the Fenway Institute which focuses on HIV and LGBT health research.


Cooper Sabatino
Manager, LGBT Programs, Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership, Harvard Medical School


Rohan Barrett
Director of Development - Principal & Major Gifts, Alumni Affairs and Development, Harvard Medical School

Joshua Ellis, MD
Clinical Fellow, Emergency Medicine, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Aliya Feroe
HMS ’21, Harvard Medical School Student

Robert Goldstein, MD, PhD
Medical Director, Transgender Health Program, Massachusetts General Hospital

Yvonne Gomez-Carrion, MD
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Daphne A. Haas-Kogan, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology, Brigham and Women's Hospital

Sabra L. Katz-Wise, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Boston Children's Hospital, Co-Director, Harvard SOGIE Health Equity Research Collaborative

Melissa Kenny
Internet Information Server Administrator, Harvard Medical School

Simone Leary
Chief Human Resources Officer

Melanie Molina, MD
Clinical Fellow, Emergency Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital

Jesscia Murphree
HSDM ’23, Harvard School of Dental Medicine Student

Jordan, Said
HMS ’22, Harvard Medical School Student

Alexandra Shields, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital

Ari Tabaac, PhD
Researcher, Boston Children's Hospital

Lisa B. Weissmann, MD
Chief, Hematology and Oncology, Mount Auburn Hospital

Ex-Officio Committee Members

Alex Keuroghlian, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital

William Lensch, PhD
Strategic Advisor, Office of the Dean

Jennifer Potter, MD
Professor of Medicine; Advisory Dean, Castle Society; LAHMS Faculty Advisor

Past Committee Members

Mark Award, MD, PHD
Ida Bernstein
Iman Berrahou
Justin A. Chen, MD, MPH
Robert Coughlin
Cary Crall
Juan Jaime de Zengotita, MD
Abhinav Dhall, PHD
Shaun Dow
Jacob Emge
Madeleine Farber Jennewein
Marshall Forstein, MD
Michael Fuchs
Maya Harary
Joan Ilacqua
Ingrid Katz, MD
Robert Li Kitts, MD
Lenny Lopez, MD, MDiv, MPH
Jonathan Matsui, PHD
Annelies Mesman, PHD
Pamela Needham
Megan Prock
Susan Rapple
Christopher Daniel Andrade Rodrigues, PHD
Mark Schuster, MD, PHD
Marisa Silveri, PHD
Viknesh Sivanathan, PHD
Catharine Smith
Carl G. Streed, Jr., MD
Peggy Timothe, DDS