Better Together

Diversity Council

The Diversity Council is comprised of HMS-Affiliated hospital representatives who are identified by department chair members of the Executive Committee plus up to six additional positions.  Council members will serve as liaisons between HMS-Affiliate departments, the HMS Diversity and Inclusion Committee, and the HMS Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership. In addition to reporting on departmental diversity activities related to recruitment, retention and belonging for faculty and trainees, representatives are responsible for disseminating information to their departments regarding opportunities, policies, practices and programs applicable to advancing diversity, inclusion and belonging at the department level. Members will provide input into processes related to diversity in affiliated-hospital departmental searches, advice regarding gaps in diversity programming efforts, particularly those related to leadership recruitment and development, and identify best practices and ways to disseminate information about those practices across institutions and departments.  The Council will also review metrics of accountability and quality improvement outcomes, and provide recommendations for collaborative programming across departments and institutions.  The Council will be co-chaired by two representatives from among the membership.  Members will serve three-year overlapping terms that may be renewed. The Diversity Council meets three times a year and presents an annual report to the HMS Diversity Committee.

Membership: The Diversity Council includes faculty who are committed to diversity and inclusion, at the levels of associate or full professor. It is expected that members will have an understanding of areas such as diversity, inclusion and workforce efforts at the departmental level, promotion processes, access to data pertaining to trainees and faculty for their respective departments and the ability to attend meetings.”

Diversity Council Members


David C. Chang, PhD, MPH, MBA
Department of Surgery
Massachusetts General Hospital 

Jatin Vyas, MD, PhD  
Department of Medicine
Massachusetts General Hospital 


Rachael Ann Clark, MD, PhD
Department of Dermatology
Brigham and Women's Hospital 

Daniele Djenaba Olveczky, MD
Department of Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 

S. Jean Emans, MD
Department of Pediatrics
Boston Children's Hospital 

Alison Galbraith, MD, MPH
Department of Population Medicine
Harvard Medical School 

Ronald Joseph Gurrera, MD
Department of Psychiatry
VA Boston 

Carolyn Hettrich, MD, MPH
Department of Orthopedic Surgery
Brigham and Women's Hospital 

Marie-Louise Jean-Baptiste, MD
Department of Medicine
Cambridge Health Alliance 

Kimberlyn Leary, PhD, MPA
Urban Institute 

Wendy Macias Konstantopoulos, MD
Department of Emergency Medicine
Massachusetts General Hospital 

John Christopher Petrozza, MD
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Massachusetts General Hospital 

Joseph M. Shacar
IT Client Services 
Harvard Medical School 

Julie K. Silver, MD
Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital 

Stacey Smith, MD
Department of Radiology
Brigham and Women's Hospital 

Karen Spencer, MD
Department of Neurology
Boston Children's Hospital 

Valerie Stone, MD
Department of Medicine
Brigham and Women's Hospital 

Rafael A. Vega, MD
Department of Neurosurgery
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 

Sophia Kamran, MD
Department of Radiation Oncology
Massachusetts General Hospital
Andrew Lichtman, MD, PhD
Department of Pathology
Brigham & Women's Hospital
Shannon Theriault
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center