2020 Mentoring Awards Recipients
Mentoring Awards
2019 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2018 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2017 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2015-2016 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2014-2015 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2013-2014 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2012-2013 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2011-2012 Mentoring Awards Recipients
2010-2011 Mentoring Awards Recipients

Excellence in Mentoring Awards

Submission period for
2021 Excellence in Mentoring Awards
nominations is now closed.
Recipients will be announced in February 2021.
Questions: pinar_kilicci-kret@hms.harvard.edu


William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award

C. Ronald Kahn, MD, Mary K. Iacocca Professor of Medicine, JDC
Alan M. Leichtner, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, BCH
Gordon T. Moore, MD, Professor of Population Medicine, HPHC
Eric P. Winer, MD, Professor of Medicine, DFCI

A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award

Richard G. Bachur, MD, Michael W. Shannon, MD, Professor of Pediatrics in the Field of Emergency Medicine, BCH
Areej El-Jawahri, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, MGH
Mitchel B. Harris, MD, Edith M. Ashley Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, MGH
Alden M. Landry, MD, Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, BIDMC
Bernard T. Lee, MD, Professor of Surgery, BIDMC
Ateev Mehrotra, MD, Associate Professor of Health Care Policy, HMS
Katherine E. Miller, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, CHA
Alexi A. Wright, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Medicine, DFCI

Young Mentor Award

Rachid E. El Fatimy, PhD, Instructor in Neurology, BWH
Maha R. Farhat, MD, MSc, CM, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics, HMS
Molly F. Franke, SD, Associate Professor of Global Health and Social Medicine, HMS
Eric Goralnick, MD, Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, BWH
Adaira I. Landry, MD, MEd, Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, BWH
Zachary S. Peacock, MD, DMD, Assistant Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, HSDM
Alex A. Shalek, PhD, Member of the Harvard-MIT Health Sciences and Technology Faculty, HMS-MIT

2020 Excellence in Mentoring Award Nominees pdf



HMS Scholars in Medicine Excellence in Student Mentoring Award Recipients

The HMS Scholars in Medicine Excellence in Student Mentoring Award was established in 2017 to recognize faculty who have carefully and skillfully guided our medical students not only in their scholarly projects but also as they train in their professions. Each year, graduating HMS students are invited to nominate their mentors. Faculty from the Scholars in Medicine Program select the finalists.

Carole Mitnick, ScD, Associate Professor of Global Health and Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Soumya Raychaudhuri, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine and Biomedical Informatics, Harvard Medical School
David Shaye, MD, Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery, Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary

2019 Recipients

About the Awards

The Excellence in Mentoring Awards were established to recognize the value of quality mentoring relationships and the impact they have on professional development and career advancement in basic/clinical medicine, research, teaching, and administration. Excellence in mentoring is recognized with the following Harvard Medical School awards:


Nomination Guidelines

Click here for nomination guidelines.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please click here for frequently asked questions about the Excellence in Mentoring Awards.

For more information, please contact:

Email: dicp_mentoringaward@hms.harvard.edu

Pinar Kilicci-Kret
Program Manager
Career Development
Tel: 617-432-1083


Photos by Jeff Thiebauth unless otherwise noted.