Excellence in Mentoring Awards

William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award

The Lifetime Excellence in Mentoring Award was established in 1997 and in 2001, was renamed the William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award.  This distinction was made to honor and acknowledge the lifetime commitment Dr. Silen made to mentoring students, residents and faculty.

William Silen, MD is the Johnson and Johnson Professor of Surgery, Emeritus, and was the first Dean for Faculty Development and Diversity at Harvard Medical School.  Dr. Silen was a graduate of the University of California School of Medicine at San Francisco (’49).  In 1966, he joined the faculty of Harvard Medical School as a professor of surgery and the Chair of the Department of Surgery at Beth Israel Hospital.  Dr. Silen is known for his dedication to the training and careers of scores of trainees and faculty, particularly surgeons.  more...


A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award

The first Excellence in Mentoring Award was established in 1995 and in 1997, was renamed to honor the memory of Dr. A. Clifford Barger who, among other things, devoted his career to bringing out the best in those who studied, trained and worked at Harvard Medical School.


A. Clifford Barger, MD (1917-1996) was the Robert Henry Pfeiffer Professor of Physiology, Emeritus and Chair of the Department of Physiology at Harvard Medical School.  Dr. Barger was a graduate of Harvard Medical School (’43).  He began his career at Harvard Medical School in 1946 as a research fellow in physiology and two years later joined the faculty of the Department of Cell Biology in 1948.  more...


Young Mentor Award

The Young Mentor Award was established in 2005 to recognize faculty who are still in the early stages of their career, but are devoting their time to providing mentoring for others.